

INDIAN SCHOOL MUSCAT MIDDLE SECTION DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SCIENCE THE STRUGGLE FOR INDEPENDENCE

NAME: _	CLASS V SEC: ROLL NO:DATE:/11/2017
l. <u>F</u>	ILL IN THE BLANKS:
1.	and were necessary for the progress of Indian society.
2.	The British divided the Indians on the basis of
3.	
4.	During World War I, lakhs of soldiers fought with the British army.
5.	The British imposed freshto recover the losses they suffered in the war.
6.	The revolutionaries resorted tomeans of protest.
	The opposition of the partition of Bengal was and the British were forced to it.
8.	The British became harsher towards the Indians after the
II. <u>N</u> 1. 2. 3.	1 1
4. 5. 6. 7.	Declared 'Freedom is my birthright, and I shall have it' Returned to India from South Africa in 1915 Rise due to anger in the people against the division of Bengal Leaders who preferred a soft approach towards the British The first session of the Indian National Congress was held in-

III. MATCH THE FOLLOWING:

SI.No	COLUMN-A	SI.No	COLUMN-B	ANSWER
1	A Social Reformer	Α	Bhagat Singh	1.
2	Extremist	В	Gopal Krishna Gokhale	2.
3	Moderates	С	Dayanand Saraswati	3.
4	Revolutionary	D	Lala Lajpat Rai	4.

IV. IDENTIFY THE FOLLOWING PERSONALITIES:

1.



2



3.



V. ANSWER THE FOLLOWING IN TWO POINTS:

- 1. When was the Indian National Congress formed? What was the main demand of the Indian National Congress in the beginning?
- 2. Why did Tilak start a newspaper?
- 3. Who were revolutionaries?

VI. ANSWER THE FOLLOWING IN THREE POINTS:

- 4. Who were extremists? How were they different from the moderates?
- 5. What was the Swadeshi Movement?

VII. ANSWER THE FOLLOWING IN FOUR POINTS:

- 6. How did the Revolt of 1857 give rise to nationalism in India?
- 7. What made the British decide to divide Bengal in 1905?

PORTION FOR POST MID-TERM

- 1. THE AGE OF MACHINES
- 2. THE UNITED NATIONS



India's oldest political party, the **Indian National Congress** was founded on December 28 in 1885. The party was formed by the members of elite class such as Allan Octavian Hume, a prominent member of the Theosophical Society, Dadabhai Naoroji and Dinshaw Wacha.